Home

I received a slightly insane email (as I often do) on Friday. I spent the weekend somewhat busy, but made sure the first thing I did this morning was to respond. This email has probably been forwarded to a lot more people than just me, so I figured I’d post my response as a blog:

(my responses are in bold or italics (or both))

If we as a nation don’t get a handle on the spread of terrorism and the
protection of our borders, our grandkids (and maybe our kids) will be
living in a much different environment than we are today! Spread the
word, if you feel so inclined.
President Bush quits!!
We all have our disagreements with President Bush. Immigration, U.S.
Attorney firings, Iraq, Darfur, etc. are all hot topics these days. The
following “speech” was written yesterday by an ordinary Maineiac. While
satirical
in nature, all satire must have a basis in fact to be effective. An
excellent piece by a person who does not write for a living. Sent with
the author’s permission.
The speech George W. Bush SHOULD give:

Normally, I start these things out by saying “My Fellow Americans.” Not
doing it this time. If the polls are any indication, I don’t know who
more than half of you are anymore. I do know something terrible has
happened, and that you’re really not fellow Americans any longer.   This maybe be the only true part. Somehow the Conservative (what’s left of them anyway) Republicans have hijacked our American flag. They have made it an evil things, a representative of everything that is wrong; not only in this country but in the worldI’ll cut right to the chase here: I quit. Now before anyone gets all in
a lather about me
quitting to avoid impeachment, or to avoid prosecution or something,
let me assure you: there’s been no breaking of laws or impeachable
offenses in this office.
   Besides lying to the American public about the intelligence on Iraq, lying to the American public about the intelligence on Iran, lying to the American public about who outted Valerie Wilson, lying to the American Public about Attorneygate, letting the oil companies, drug companies, and war profiteers run wild…The reason I’m quitting is simple. I’m fed up with you people.I’m fed up because you have no understanding of what’s really going on
in the world. Or of what’s going on in this once-great nation of ours.
And the majority of you are too damned lazy to do your homework and
figure it out.

Let’s start local. You’ve been sold a bill of goods by politicians and
the news media. Polls show that the
majority of you think the economy is in the tank. And that’s despite
record numbers of homeowners including record numbers of MINORITY
homeowners. And while we’re mentioning minorities, I’ll point out that
minority business ownership is at an all-time high. Our unemployment
rate is as low as it ever was during the ClintonAdministration. I’ve
mentioned all those things before, but it doesn’t seem to have sunk in.   Anything can be manipulated, especially if you tell only a half truth, as is the case here. I don’t know what the “record number of homeowners” is based on, but there is no source. I like how it says “…majority of you are too damned lazy to do your homework” but obviously whoever wrote and forwarded this didn’t do his or hers. http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/news?pid=20601087&sid=ahwzaBwuNaII&refer=homeBy simply clicking the link (of the right leaning Bloomberg News) you can see what’s really going on with our “record number of homeowners.”While I couldn’t find anything to refute that minority business ownership is at an all-time high, I couldn’t find anything supporting it either, but if you go here http://www.score.org/minority_stats.html you can see that there was a steady climb in minorities owning businesses all throughout the 90’s. I understand that pointing this out would be giving credit to Clinton, which is a huge no-no if you’re one of the 22% that still support our “president”
The unemployment rate stat is a little misleading also. When someone has been out of work for more than a year and is no longer eligible for unemployment benefits, that person is no longer considered “unemployed”. Also, I guess Bush bases how well he’s doing on keeping up with Clinton. Another interesting fact about unemployment is the 10+ % unemployment rate for veterans ages 20 to 24, proving that “supporting the troops” is also another form of propaganda from the Bush Regime. http://www.score.org/minority_stats.html

Despite the shock to our economy of 9/11, the stock market has
rebounded to record levels and more Americans than ever are
participating in these markets. Meanwhile, all you can do is whine
about gas prices, and most of you are too damn stupid to realize that
gas prices are high because there’s increased demand in other parts of
the world, and because a small handful of noisy idiots are more worried
about polar bears and beachfront property than your economic
security.
“…the stock market has rebounded to record levels,” is – once again – a true, but misleading statement. All it means is that the rich are getting richer. Walk around an upper class white neighborhood and I bet owners of stock are at an all time high, but go around the South Bronx or your local trailer park and see how their portfolios are doing. There is an increased demand in other parts of the world and in America, this is true. It’s also true that the Middle East is a mess (I wonder why) and that makes things less reliable. However, something that wasn’t mentioned is the profit levels of CEO’s of oil companies. http://abcnews.go.com/WNT/story?id=1029991 We face real threats in the world. Don’t give me this “blood for oil”
thing. If I was trading blood for oil I would’ve already seized Iraq’s
oil fields and let the rest of the country go to hell. And don’t give
me this ‘Bush Lied People Died’ crap either. If I was the liar you
morons take me for, I could’ve easily had chemical weapons planted in
Iraq so they could be ‘discovered.’ Instead, I owned up to the fact
that the intelligence was faulty. Let me remind you that the rest of
the world thought Saddam had the goods, same as me. Let me also remind
you that regime change in Iraq was official US policy before I came
into office. Some guy named ‘Clinton’ established that policy. Bet you
didn’t know that, did you?“… would have already seized Iraq’s oil fields and let the rest of the country go to hell.” Where do I start with this one? When we first went into Iraq we had troops guarding all the oil fields and refineries; meanwhile dozens of weapons caches got raided. There is now a bill in the Iraqi congress that would make the oil industry privatized (in other words, Americanized, but we would be nice and share some of their profits with them.) http://www.commondreams.org/views03/0331-08.htm “The rest of the world thought Saddam had the good…” I don’t think I’ve ever heard anyone arguing FOR Saddam, this is another right wing talking point. Everyone knew Saddam was evil (except maybe Bush Sr and Rumsfeld, who befriended him in the 80’s). I find it amusing that the entire world knew he was evil and yet the US and UK are the only ones who went into Iraq. Maybe the rest of the world (along with both Bush Sr and Clinton) knew that when invading a country one needs an exit strategy).You idiots need to understand that we face a unique enemy. Back during
the cold war, there were two major competing political and economic
models squaring off. We won that war, but we did so because
fundamentally, the Communists wanted to survive, just as we do. We were
simply able to outspend and out-tech them.
That’s not the case this time. The soldiers of our new enemy don’t care
if they survive. In fact, they want to die. That’d be fine, as long as
they weren’t also committed to taking as many of you with them as they
can. But they are. They want to kill you. And the bastards are all over
the globe.
Can I have the names of the “bastards” you talked to who want to kill me? They want to take out the soldiers who are in their country. They attacked the country who has been attacking there for hundreds of years. If the ‘enemy’ didn’t care if they survived or not, they wouldn’t be fighting to get invaders out of their country, they would be laying down and dying. How many attacks on American soil occurred before 9/11? How many since? How many other ‘free’ countries were attacked before our “war on terror” began?You should be grateful that they haven’t gotten any more of us here in
the United States since September 11. But you’re not. That’s because
you’ve got no idea how hard a small number of intelligence, military,
law enforcement and homeland security people have work ed to make sure
of that. When this whole mess started, I warned you that this would be
a long and difficult fight. I’m disappointed how many of you people
think a long and difficult fight amounts to a single season of
‘Survivor.’Grateful? Terrorism is at an all time high, rising in every year since our wonderful ‘war on terror’ has started. http://abcnews.go.com/International/story?id=3103227&page=1&CMP=OTC-RSSFeeds0312 Instead, you’ve grown impatient. You’re incapable of seeing things
through the long lens of history, the way our enemies do. You think
that wars should last a few months, a few years, tops.

Wars should last as long as they take- as long as they are necessary wars and not ones being fought so America can extend its hegemony and a few select people can become super rich.Making matters worse, you actively support those who help the enemy.
Every time you buy the New York Times, every time you send a donation
to a cut-and-run Democrat’s political campaign, well, dammit, you might
just as well Fedex a grenade launcher to a Jihadist. It amounts to the
same thing.
Where’s the evidence that the NY Times supports terrorists? Freedom of speech (and the Times sure doesn’t exercise that as much as these nut bags want us to believe) is one of our rights, in case people have forgotten. Also, the Times was one of the first to report on the weapons of mass destruction in Iraq.Once again, where’s your evidence- show me one video of a Democrat saying they want to cut and run. Even though no one of any importance has suggested cutting and running, I would rather do that than staying and dying.In this day and age, it’s easy enough to find the truth. It’s all over
the Internet. It just isn’t on the pages of the New York Times or on
NBC News. But even if it were, I doubt you’d be any smarter. Most of
you would rather watch American Idol.
I could say more about your expectations that the government will
always be there to bail you out, even if you’re too stupid to leave a
city that’s below sea level and has a hurricane approaching. I
could say more about your insane belief that government, not your own
wallet, is where the money comes from. But I’ve come to the conclusion
that were I to do so, it would sail right over your heads.
Tell someone who’s living in a falling apart house, working 60 hours a week trying to make ends meet, and poor as dung to just pick up their shit and leave, even thought the President is on TV saying that there is no danger, everything is going to be fine.
So I quit. I’m going back to Crawford. I’ve got an energy-efficient
house down there (Al Gore could only dream) and the capability to be
fully self-sufficient. No one ever heard of Crawford before I got
elected, and as soon as I’m done here pretty much no one will ever hear
of it again. Maybe I’ll be lucky enough to die of old age before the
last pillars of America fall.
George W Bush is from Connecticut

Oh, and by the way, Cheney’s quitting too. That means Pelosi is your
new President. You
asked for it. Watch what she does carefully, because I still have a
glimmer of hope that there’re just enough of you remaining who are
smart enough to turn this thing around in 2008.
So that’s it. God bless what’s left of America. Some of you know what I
mean. 

One thought on “Point By Point Refutation of Propaganda

  1. OH….MY………..GOD! Seriously, i don’t know what freaks me out more -the guy who wrote this or the the people sending it around and feeling all tingly and patriotic because of it.

    “I could say more about your expectations that the government will
    always be there to bail you out, even if you’re too stupid to leave a
    city that’s below sea level and has a hurricane approaching. I
    could say more about your insane belief that government, not your own
    wallet, is where the money comes from. But I’ve come to the conclusion
    that were I to do so, it would sail right over your heads.” …….WHAT!!!

    i don’t even know what to say about this, i’m so annoyed. Most of your refutes were pretty astonishing and i hope whomever sent this to you really read those articles. I felt hope yesterday, but now, after this, yikers! It makes me remember who’s in control of this country right now and how suicidal it would be to take on a class war. Ouch!

Leave a Reply

