Home

I woke up in a pretty good mood today; I got a good night’s sleep, it’s snowing outside, and it’s the last day of school. My mood is now changed. Last night I got an email from one of the 9/11 guys that I met at the Ashcroft thing; the email was about how an employee of KBR (Halliburton) was locked in a container and raped by KBR employees in Iraq. I wouldn’t say I dismissed it, but I decided to wait for more evidence when hearing something from a conspiracy guy. This morning ABC news decided to cover it. Not only was she (allegedly) locked up in a container and raped vaginally and anally for a couple days, but there is no law that protects her. It’s the same thing that happened with the mercenaries; it’s not in the US so they can’t be held accountable in the US courts, Iraqi law states that foreign workers can do whatever they want (which obviously includes murder and rape) and not be charged, and Halliburton is saying they’ll hire an arbitrator and conduct a closed door hearing. What made me even sicker were the comments that people were making on the article- it’s even worse than the morons who comment on the Camera articles.

Chris Floyd comments on the above article in another very short blog. Talk about slackers; my blog will be longer than Floyd, Greenwald, the Liberal, and probably Arthur Silber.

Talk about a mood swing. I was feeling down after reading about the woman who got raped, feeling like there should be something we should do, justice should somehow be served. Then I read this; Chris Hedges continues to amaze me. Reading this article sent something shooting through my veins, brought tears to my eyes, and gave me a bit of hope. If you only read one thing today – fuck it, if you only read one thing this week – read this. That’s all I can say.

Something that would have made me angry a couple minutes ago, but now pales in comparison is this blog by AL about Scooter Libby dropping his appeal. It’s only two paragraphs long, but points out that the reason Bush pardoned him was because he was denied bail while waiting for his appeal (that he was sure he would win) to go through. It seems unimportant now.

I have two things to say about the CIA tape destroying thing; 1. Even though I’m having trouble understanding who destroyed them, who (if anyone) gave them permission, what the crime is, or who is going to get in trouble, I know that this could end up being huge. 2. Maybe someone besides the CIA and connected people from congress should be doing an investigation. Maybe some sort of independent group? Call me crazy.

And now onto other countries. Russia kind of pisses me off; they pretend to be against the US because we are trying to create a hegemony and take over the world and we are corrupt. Then they go and do shady shit like this.

I want to know what would happen if Israel just backed off and let things be. Open up the borders, let Palestinians live wherever they want, let Israelis live wherever they want and see what happens.  There will probably be a lot of violence (sort of like now) but eventually things would probably calm down. I bet the majority of Palestinians would start to turn against groups like Hamas and the other Islamic militant organizations.

2 thoughts on “Blogs and Articles for December 11

  1. The Idea of a mass exodus of tax payers could have the potential to make a dramatic statement that could actually have some impact. If it was truly organized you could pool what would have gone to the gov. and save it for events charities and organizations that are truly doing work you believe in and for when they come after you.

Leave a Reply

