Home

I’ve talked a lot about the negative aspects of both major presidential candidates over the past few months in this blog. At this point – as has been the case the whole time, although I had some hope there could be a viable third party candidate – I am hoping will all my heart that Barrack Obama wins. I think he is a lot more mainstream than people think (or hope) he is, he takes money from many corrupt sources, and he will probably be directly responsible killing hundreds of thousands of people throughout the world over at least the next four years. However, I also think that he is infinitely better than John McCain and Sarah Palin combined, and he won’t completely destroy the world as the Republicans would. It is because of this that I can understand why people have voted and will vote for Mr. Obama. The thing that I have the biggest problem with, concerning the people who cast their vote in that direction is the making of Obama to be a savior. I know quite a few people who voted for him because he is the lesser of two evils, but these people plan on putting pressure on him after they help get him elected. I respect that, but I also know and read blogs by people who think that he is going to change the world – especially this country – immensely for the greater, without any outside pushing. He is change, he is the second coming, he is – and here lies my biggest beef – the next Martin Luther King Jr.

It is my opinion that to compare Barrack Obama to Martin Luther King Jr. is bordering on racism. Both King and Obama are black, they are both leaders, they are both good speakers, and they both started organizing on the streets. In my opinion, that is where the comparisons end. I spent this past weekend reading a number of sermons from Dr. King and it is my opinion that him and Obama are not of the same league. I have been told that Obama is just playing a part in order to get elected, at which point he will take off his mask and reveal his true Kingian self. I have no idea whether or not this is true, but I really don’t think it matters. I truly believe that Martin Luther King (like Gandhi, Jesus, and the rest of our prophets) would never even think about playing a part in order to reach a certain position. They all – King especially – took a great amount of pride in Truth, in not becoming the mainstream just because it is the mainstream, not pretending to be something you’re not; and I would be willing to bet that King would never in anyone’s wildest dreams have taken money from oil companies. I can’t even imagine what Martin Luther King would say to Barrack Obama after the latter dropped his preacher because the media (and mainstream USians) thought he was too radical.

King said, when talking about conformity, “Millions of citizens are deeply disturbed that the military industrial complex too often shapes national policy, but they do not want to be considered unpatriotic.” King is saying that we need to take a stand, to speak the Truth, no matter what the consequences. He is saying that it doesn’t matter what the majority thinks or what they will think of you- you need to stick to your guns. Barrack Obama – although at times saying the opposite – has promised to increase the size of the military, keep permanent bases in Iraq, send more troops to Afghanistan, and will continue to make million and billionaires out of people who make weapons that kill innocent children. Whether or not he is just saying these things to attract middle of the road vote or not does not matter. In fact, it is possibly even worse if he doesn’t believe these things. Some people say that if King was still alive today he would fully endorse Obama. I say, “In any cause that concerns the progress of mankind, put your faith in the nonconformist!” Do these sound like the words of someone who would support for president a man that has conformed immensely since he received the Democratic nomination?

One of two things will happen tomorrow; Barrack Obama will become the next president of the United States or the Republicans will steal another race. If the first one happens, I will – while not becoming any less active – smile and hope that things are going to better. Should the second occur, I will be on the streets with hundreds of thousands of other people, demanding that the fraud be brought to light. I don’t think Barrack Obama is a horrible person, I don’t think that he is going to destroy the universe (just the lives of millions of people), I think he’s better than John McCain, and I even have a sliver of hope that he is this Kingeque guy that people have been saying he is. All I’m saying in this post is that I think him and King – while maybe starting out on the same path – are nowhere near the same person.

Leave a Reply

