Home

It is my belief that all serious activists should have a major issue; something that they spend the majority of the activist time focusing on. If, while focusing on that issue, a call for help or support is made by another activist, then help should be given. However, when we start to focus on a number of different things at the same time, things can get a bit diluted and often times nothing is actually accomplished. That said- the occupation and genocide being committed by the state of Israel has not been my ‘issue’. Maybe because I feel something connecting me to Israel (I am Jewish, my maternal grandparents survived the holocaust, and I have family in Israel) I have been paying attention here and there for the past couple years to what has been happening. I began to grow angrier and angrier during the past few months while reading about the slow starvation and murder of Palestinians unlucky enough to be living on the Gaza strip, but when Israel launched an offensive I just couldn’t sit still anymore. While this is still not my issue, I have made it my job to scream at the top of my lungs. I know there are not many people who read this blog, but I’ll continue to write in here and hope it changes minds or gets at least one person to speak out when they otherwise would not have. I am pissing off a lot of family members by voicing my opinion on this matter, but innocent human beings are being killed by a country that houses members of my family, with bombs and guns that are paid for with my tax dollars, so I will not shut up. I speak to my family or read interviews with clinically insane Zionists and the thing that is most commonly expressed is that, “it’s a bad thing that so many [Palestinians, Iraqis, Afghans, Lebanese…] have to die, but we are doing this to prevent another holocaust.” In my opinion, this is complete and utter bullshit that anyone with even a half of a good eye can see through. Holocausts are not prevented by committing pre-emptive holocausts; all that is going to happen is that more and more people are going to hate Jews. As I’ve said in this blog dozens of times- killing people is not a good way to make friends.

I woke up this morning and was blown away (as happens most mornings) by this Glenn Greenwald blog. I sometimes think that I get a warped sense of the world- I’m a Peace Studies student who goes to a hippie school located in a town that is one of the most liberal in the world. Everyone I converse with about the Israel/Palestine situation seems to take the same side as me, but I usually attribute that to the type of people I talk to. However, when reading Greenwald’s blog and seeing that:

“A new WorldPublicOpinion.org poll of 18 countries finds that in 14 of them people mostly say their government should not take sides in the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. Just three countries favor taking the Palestinian side (Egypt, Iran, and Turkey) and one is divided (India). No country favors taking Israel’s side, including the United States, where 71 percent favor taking neither side.”

I literally almost shat myself. Not just the majority of people in Boulder, not just the (very high) majority of people in the US, but the majority of people (and governments) of the entire world think that what Israel is doing should not be tolerated. Many Zionists will take this to mean that the world is filled with Anti-Semites, but this is not the case at all. 71% favor taking neither side; no one is saying that countries should be allowed or encouraged to arm Palestine to the teeth in order to have a fair fight, what they’re saying is that we should support both sides. When a family is blown up by a Palestinian suicide bomber our president should be at a press conference condemning the attack… as long as he is in front of the same podium condemning Israel’s absolutely insane, lopsided response. We (and I say we because it is our money that is paying for it) send billions of dollars worth of weapons to the state of Israel every single year, yet we get up in arms if anyone is training people for the Palestinian side. We send extra weapons express to Israel during genocides like what is happening now or what happened two years ago in Lebanon, yet get angry when a Palestinian has no other option than to shoot a ten year old rocket at an Israeli settlement. We need to all come together and scream as loud as we can or no one is going to hear us.

We live in a democracy; if 71% of the people vote for a political candidate, that candidate wins. If 71% of people vote to make a constitutional amendment banning gay marriage in California, the bill passes. However, when 71% feel strongly that the US should stop sending one of the most murderous countries in the world tons and tons of weapons, we are completely ignored. Almost every member of Congress, – Democrat or Republican – the President and his people, and the President elect and his people all rushed to the microphone in the past few days to make it clear that Israel is acting in order to survive and the US will do whatever is in her power to help. If half of the 71% of our country makes this a big deal, things will have to change. That would be over one hundred million USers writing letter to the media to demand fair coverage; over one hundred million mindful people calling their representatives to remind her or him that their job is represent what we want. One hundred million people spread out over every town and city in the country occupying the offices of these same representatives if there is no positive response. And it eventually would mean voting these people out of office. Right now, the people who represent us understand that if they speak out against this war, they will stop receiving a lot of money. They should not fear lobbyists more than they fear and respect their constituency; that is not a democracy!!

Two quick things before I go- 1) there are hundreds of rallies and vigils going on across the country in support of the Palestinians- find one online and go to it! 2) If you read one thing for the rest of the week- read this. If you are not convinced that both the US and Israel are terrorist nations, you should get a CT Scan.

Leave a Reply

