Home

Recently I had to give a detailed description of all my tattoos and scars, and it was then that I finally became able to answer the question that I hear so often, “how many tattoos do you have?” Writing them down and describing them also gave me a chance to revisit the reasoning behind each one, and I can’t help but feel a certain love for one of my simplest pieces. From my left wrist to about halfway towards my elbow, I have a giant question mark. In reality, I got it to cover up a tattoo with an ex’s name on it, but it has since become a representation of one of my favorite sayings, “Question Everything”. Do I actually questions each and every single thing? No. Do I question enough of the situations that I find myself in? Probably not. However, I make an effort each and every day – with varying results – to question as much as I possibly can. My biggest question though, is why the fuck do most people not question anything that actually effects their lives?

Mere weeks ago (even though most people – myself included – probably had no idea) Kellogg recalled 28 million boxes of cereals because of a strange chemical that may have found its way into the food. That means somewhere around 28 million people bought cereal – for themselves or, more often, their children – that contained a poisonous chemical in it. Where was the outrage? Where were the people in the streets demanding accountability? Where were the flames bursting out of the Kellogg factory? Nowhere. We live in a culture where we are taught from very early to accept what our so-called superiors tell us; whether that means our parents, teachers, bosses, or in this case the CEO of a company. How did this chemical end up in food that we give our children? How often does this happen that we don’t find out about? How many kids ate bowls and bowls of this chemical before Kellogg was forced to pull it off the shelves? Why does it seem like there is always some food product being recalled because of various poisons? Perhaps the craziest part, as I read in this article, is this- no one actually knows what is in the chemical that was found in Kellogg products. Why? Because companies do not have to actually report the chemicals they put in our food:

“The Food and Drug Administration has no scientific data on its impact on human health. The Environmental Protection Agency also lacks basic health and safety data for 2- methylnaphthalene — even though the EPA has been seeking that information from the chemical industry for 16 years.

The cereal recall hints at a larger issue: huge gaps in the government’s knowledge about chemicals in everyday consumer products, from furniture to clothing to children’s products. Under current laws, the government has little or no information about the health risks posed by most of the 80,000 chemicals on the U.S. market today.”

Is that not mind boggling? There are over 80,000 chemicals – CHEMICALS – being mixed in with something we need to survive and the people putting these chemicals into our food do not have any obligation to tell anyone what is in them or the health risks. Why? Because we continue to not question anything.

Leave a Reply

