Home

As anyone who has read my blog knows, the topic of power is something that I enjoy looking at and writing about. The fact that all 7 billion people on this earth have power and that the vast majority freely give away that power, is a topic that will probably never cease to interest me. The more I think and write about it, the more my mind expands concerning that topic. It is on my mind every day in all my acts, but it’s really brought to the forefront during election time. I’ve learned to not fault anyone for voting (the truth is, I don’t know if I’m right about anything), but the concept still fascinates me.
Obviously, I don’t vote and I try to have as little to do with the whole process as possible. I spend around 90 minutes every morning surfing the web for news, but for the past three or four months I’ve actively avoided reading any article with election, Obama, Romney, Democrat, or Republican in the title. Despite all this, I still found myself checking my computer on election night. It was almost like watching a sporting event between two teams that I didn’t really care for. Admittedly (for reasons that I’m not sure I fully understand) I was rooting for Obama, but had he lost I wouldn’t alter my life at all. It was interesting following marijuana legalization in Washington, Oregon, and Colorado and some gay marriage initiatives in a few different states. Now, the election is over and Obama is president for another four years. In my opinion, these next few months are exponentially more important than the months leading up to the election.
As I’ve previously mentioned, I think voting is the state’s way to appease the majority of its citizens. It makes us feel as though we’re making a difference, that our voice is being heard, when in actuality our votes don’t even decide who wins. For example, voters in Colorado agreed that marijuana should be legal, but it means nothing should the Feds decide to make a big deal about it. It also convinces non voters that anything that happens is partly their fault and that they have no right to complain about it.
In my judgmental mind, I divide eligible voters into three categories. Category one is the people who vote, two is the people who don’t vote for moral reasons (they don’t like the candidates, they don’t feel like their vote counts, they don’t recognize the state, etc.), and the final category are the people who feel like voting maybe makes a difference, but are too lazy or busy to get it done. Right now I think the people in category one are the most important.
In my opinion, the people who don’t vote because they morally object are more than likely committed to realizing their own power and making change. The people who don’t vote because they don’t feel like it or are too busy are probably not going to get involved in real change until it’s too big to ignore. That leaves the approximately 120 million people who voted.
I’m making assumptions, but I think it’s fair to say that these 120 million individuals make time on election day because they feel like it makes a difference in their lives. What if these people somehow had the revelation that there are other, more fun and meaningful things they can do to have an impact? What if they believed that an hour of their time per week could make a difference? What if 120 million additional hours were dedicated each week to making the world a better place?
I imagine everyone who voted had a reason for picking the candidate the picked, but imagine we didn’t leave it up to that person? Think about why you voted for whomever or whatever you voted for, and then think about what you can do in your regular life to make this a reality. If you voted for Obama because you feel like your factory has a better change of getting unionized under his leadership, then start to organize your workmates. If you voted for Romney because you think no one should get anything for free, then go make sure that there are jobs for people.
I believe that after a few weeks of this people would start to remember what it’s like to have possession of their power. After a few months this false reality that has been shoved down our throats for our whole lives would start to dissipate. And, by the time the 2012 presidential election arrived it wouldn’t even matter; people wouldn’t bother voting because they would finally get the concept of not needing a leader.
So, that’s my challenge. Make your best effort to find one hour in your busy week to do something that reminds you of your power. I promise you won’t regret it.

A SAMPLE OF WHAT I READ TODAY

I don’t understand how anyone can still believe that the cops do more good than evil.

High school students in Portland sure aren’t falling for it anymore

Bruce Levine does it again.

Leave a Reply

